Attenberg

Feature film

Athina Rachel Tsangari

From 15 years-old

Country : Greece
Year : 2010
Length : 1h35
Genre : Fiction
Information : Color/Vostf

Screenplay : Athina Rachel Tsangari
Cinematography : Thimios Bakatakis
Sound : Leandros Ntounis
Editing : Sandrine Cheyrol, Matt Johnson
Artistic direction : Dafni Kalogianni
Producers : Maria Hatzakou, Yorgos Lanthimos, Iraklis Mavroidis, Athina Rachel Tsangari, Angelos Venetis

Cast : Ariane Labed, Vangelis Mourikis, Evangelia Randou, Yorgos Lanthimos

Production : Haos Films
Distribution : Bodega Films

Download the press kit in french here

Press kit Attenberg.pdf Press kit Attenberg.pdf

Synopsis

Marina, 23, lives with her father in an industrial city on the coast. Keeping her distances with human being that she judges too strange, she prefers listening songs by Suicide, watching animal’s documentaries by Sir David Attenborough and taking sexual education class with her only friend Bella. While a stranger comes into her life, she must prepare to let a father leave it…

Attenberg is about mourning: the one of childhood, certitudes and death, and emancipation in a cruel world all over us. The director has a tender look at these characters; she observes them like Marina watches animals’ observations, of Sir David Attenborough’s documentaries.

Athina Rachel Tsangari

She lives and works between her natal Greece and the United States. She graduated from the University of Thessaloniki (literature), from the Tisch School of Arts in New-York (performing studies), and from the University of Austin (directing). She is the creator and co founding of Cinematexas International Short Film Festival in Austin, which highlights avant-garde cinema and music. She is producer, director, director of photography and editor on documentaries or feature films. She is also known for a big scale projection of dance, theater and her performances; she realizes in 2004 the video of the Opening Ceremony of the Olympic Games of Athens. She founded in 2005 Haos Film, which produced the 2 first movies of her actor in Attenberg, Yorgos Lantimos, Kinetta and Canine (Un Certain Regard Award at the Cannes Festival in 2009).

Filmography

The Slow Business of Going (2001), Instants Instants (2008), Réflexions (2009), Attenberg (2010)

Dates

Wednesday, November 14th at 6p.m. at the movie theater Le Calypso (Viry-Châtillon).

Saturday, November 17th at 3.30p.m. at the movie theater François Truffaut (Chilly-Mazarin) and at 6p.m. at the movie theater Le Calypso (Viry-Châtillon).

Sunday, November 18th at 3p.m. at the movie theater Atmosphère (Marcoussis) and at 6p.m. at the movie theater François Truffaut (Chilly-Mazarin).

Retour à la page précédente

Attenberg

Long métrage

Athina Rachel Tsangari

à partir de 15 ans

Pays : Grèce
Date : 2010
Genre : Fiction
Durée : 1h35
Infos : Couleur/Vostf/35mm-DCP

Scénario : Athina Rachel Tsangari
Image : Thimios Bakatakis
Montage :
Sandrine Cheyrol
Son : Leandros Ntouris
Producteurs : Yorgos Serdaris

Interprètes  :
Ariane Labed, Vangelis Mourikis, Evangelia Randou, Giorgos Lanthimos, Kostas Berikopoulos, Michel Demopoulos

Production : Haos Films
Distribution : Bodega Films 

Télécharger le dossier de presse ici
DP Attenberg.pdf DP Attenberg.pdf

Résumé

Marina, 23 ans, vit avec son père dans une ville industrielle sur la côte. Gardant ses distances avec les êtres humains qu’elle juge bien trop étranges, elle préfère écouter les chansons de Suicide, regarder les documentaires animaliers de Sir David Attenborough et prendre des cours d’éducation sexuelle auprès de sa seule amie Bella. Alors qu’un inconnu entre dans sa vie, elle doit se préparer à laisser son père en sortir…

Attenberg est un film sur le deuil : celui de l’enfance, des certitudes, de la mort, et de l’émancipation dans le monde cruel qui nous entoure. La réalisatrice porte un regard tendre sur ces personnages, elle les observe de la même manière dont Marina regarde les observations animalières des documentaires  de Sir David Attenborough.

Athina Rachel Tsangari

Elle vit et travaille entre sa Grèce natale et le Etats-Unis. Elle est diplômée de l’Université de Thessalonique (Littérature), de la Tisch School of Arts de New-York (Etudes de Performance), et de l’université d’Austin (Réalisation). Elle est la directrice et la cofondatrice du Cinematexas International Short Film Festival de Austin, qui met en avant le cinéma et la musique d’avant-garde. Elle est productrice, réalisatrice, directrice de la photo et monteuse, sur des longs métrages documentaires ou de fiction. Elle est également connue pour ses projections à grande échelle pour la danse, le théâtre et ses performances, elle réalise en 2004 la vidéo de la Cérémonie d’Ouverture des Jeux Olympiques d’Athènes. Elle a fondé en 2005 Haos Film, qui a notamment produit les 2 premiers films de son acteur dans Attenberg, Yorgos Lanthimos, Kinetta et Canine (Prix Un Certain Regard au festival de Cannes en 2009).

Filmographie

The Slow Business of Going (2001), Instants Instants (2008), Réflexions (2009), Attenberg (2010)

 

 

Retour à la page précédente